Mohammad Hafeez appointed T20 captain

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board has appointed Mohammad Hafeez as the captain for the Twenty 20 (T20) format of the game during the tour of Sri Lanka.

Speaking to the media, PCB Chairman Zaka Ashraf announced that the Pakistani all rounder would be leading the team in the shortest format of the game, however Misbah ul Haq would remain captain for the One day International and Test formats. Hafeez would serve as the vice captain in these formats.

Ashraf said that Misbah was consulted in all decisions made by the board.

“We are proud of you and will always be proud of you,” Ashraf said in praise of Misbah.

Speaking to the media Hafeez thanked the board and Misbah for giving him the opportunity to lead the T20 team.

“I will try my best to enhance the moral and image of the team.” Hafeez also praised former captains he had played under and said he would implement what he had learnt from them.

“His leadership qualities, calmness and honesty are exemplarily” Hafeez said while describing Misbah.

T20 Team: Khalid Latif, Ahmed Shahzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Umer Akmal, Shakil Ansar, Shahid Afridi, Yasir Arfat, Sohail Tanveer, Saeed Ajmal, Raza Hasan, Umer Gul, Haris Sohaib, Mohammad Sami, Hamad Azam, Nasir Jamshed.

ODI: Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umer Akmal, Sarfaza Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Umer Gul, Rahat Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Mohammad Sami, Asad Shafiq, Ijaz Cheema, Azhar Ali, Imran Farhat.

Test: Mohammad Hafeez, Taufiq Umer, Azhar Ali, Misbah ul Haq, Younis Khan, Asad Shafique, Adnan Akmal, Umer Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Mohammad Sami, Faisal Iqbal, Junaid Khan, Afaq Rahim, Mohammad Ayub Dogar, Ijaz Cheema.

Scridb filter